Pop Culture

Local Books to Read

if You Love Young

Adult Books

by Maria Romero, April 24, 2019 1:01pm

Art by Dani Elevazo

Pop Culture

Local Books to Read if You Love Young Adult Books

by Maria Romero, April 24, 2019 1:01pm
Art by Dani Elevazo
 

Our Philippine Literature is rich in diverse stories and genres—all of which magnificently reflects our culture and traditions. If you’re a teenager or a kid at heart, Young Adult (YA) literature are the most relatable books for you. YA isn’t exactly a genre, but a collective of books written for 12 to 20 years old.

Aside from the internationally-acclaimed YA books like John Green’s The Fault In Our Stars, Colleen Hoover’s November 9, or Stephenie Meyer’s Twilight Series, we also have YA books by our local authors. If you particularly love those types of books, our local authors will serve you well with their narratives best for every type of reader.

'Ang Larong Nagwakas sa Atin' by Fe Esperanza Trampe
Ideal for mind game lovers

If you personally love mind games or if you’re the type of person who is not good at showing their true feelings through actions, you’d love this book about Denis and Esther. Since his adolescent years, Denis Manansala has been playing chess—a game he knows he’s best at. But when he transferred to St. Louise de Marillac Academy in High School, a new game started when he met Esther Pamintuan who taught him the value of family, friendships, and dreams. Both want a college scholarship grant and they have to settle who is more deserving over a chess match.

'Bone Talk' by Candy Gourlay
Ideal for suspense-thriller aficionados

Set within the mountains of the Philippines during the Philippine-American War, Bone Talk is about Samkad who lived 100 years ago in the Philippines. Samkad has never met anyone outside his tribe except Luki, his best friend. One day, his long-lost brother returns to tell him strange people have come to attack lowland towns including their village—this is suspense, thriller, and history in one book.

'The Girl Between Two Worlds' by Kristyn Maslog-Levis
Ideal for the Tinkerbell fan

If you were once fascinated by fairies from the Tinkerbell, reading this book would feel like a trip down memory lane. Follow Karina’s story as she discovers supernatural things happening around her after her sixteenth birthday. After speaking to her in dreams, she finds out her mother is a run-away fairy princess from Engkantasia. As the rightful heir of the throne, can she prevent the war happening between the Engkantasia and the human world?

'Sombi' by Jonas Sunico
Ideal for the Walking Dead devotee

America has Walking Dead, Korea has Kingdom, and the Philippines, through Jonas Sunico, now has Sombi. It’s a story about Joe, a Fil-Am boy who finds himself in the Philippines during a zombie apocalypse. He struggles to survive against zombies as he meets other survivors—a senator who has a hard time speaking in English, a criminal-turned-into-priest who reveals a prophecy, a beautiful girl whom he falls in love with, and a dog that serves as the cure for mankind.

'What About Today' by Dawn Lanuza
Ideal for the adrenaline junkies

This book has that familiar sense of cheerful vibe and somehow it’s also reminiscent of Mitch Albom’s Five People You Meet In Heaven sharing the same setting in an amusement park. Aiden is working the whole summer at Funtastic World, an amusement park owned by his family. Nothing amuses him in the park except Gemma, a girl terrified by park’s rides. It tells a story of one great day that changed their lives.

'I Hate My Mother' by Perpilili Vivienne Tiongson
Ideal for the grade-conscious

This novel has a similar vibe to the Little Women minus the civil war setting and focusing only on one female character. I Hate My Mother explores the dynamics of a young woman’s emotions as she tries to juggle school requirements and her life in general as a teenager. This story narrates a woman’s tale of overcoming her struggles in the face of her responsibilities as a daughter, sister, and student.

'The Mystery on 17th Street' by Annie Gorra
Ideal for the Paranormal Buffs

The paranormal buffs may be interested to know the story of Agustin and his friends, Rhuel and Noli. The group lives a simple life at 17th Street where they only want to play, learn about life, beauty, and the gift of creation. But an old and quarrelsome woman named Iya Vellit, who’s said to be a witch, changes the children’s life along with a stranger who arrived in their street.

As we grow old, we begin to care less about what books are sold as, or which shelves in the bookstore they can be found. Support our local authors because they can equally write nostalgia-infused stories like the ones we devoured as kids. So, pick a local book today and keep our local literature alive for future generations' sake. 

 

Is `Local Books to Read if You Love Young Adult Books´ helpful?  Y  N

Comments