Weird, fun holidays celebrated in May

Jace Amodo
PUBLISHED May 5, 2018 07:20 pm
Star Wars Day is celebrated every May 4 with the official slogan of “May the 4th be with you.” Photo from Disney

(Inside Manila) It’s amazing how fast April can become a stranger as the month of May now comes in, with observances and a special non-working holiday such as the Labor Day on the 1st and the Synchronized Barangay and Sangguniang Kabataan Elections on the 14th.


According to the Official Gazette of the Republic of the Philippines, the country will observe May as a National Heritage Month, National Hypertension Awareness Month, Cervical Cancer Consciousness Month, Anti-Graft and Corruption Awareness Month, Land Transportation Safety Month, Youth and Student Travel Month, Volunteerism Month, and the Month of the Ocean.


It is also in this month that fiestas and other indigenous activities are most alive. There’s the Pasalamat Festival in Negros Occidental, the month-long Catholic-wide Flores de Mayo, Magayon Festival in Albay, Pista y Dayat Festival in Pangasinan, Boa-Boahan in Camarines Sur, Carabao-Carozza Race Festival in Iloilo, Lanahan Ritual in Davao del Sur, Balanghai Festival in Butuan, Tapusan Festival in Batangas, Barangay Boat Festival in Cagayan, Pahiyas Festival in Quezon, Pahoy-Pahoy Festival in Samar, and Carabao Festival and Obando Festival in Bulacan.


The world, on the other hand, will celebrate World Press Freedom Day on May 3, International Nurses Day on May 12, Mother’s Day on May 13, and International Museum Day on May 18. There are also a few unusual yet fun holidays observed throughout the month:


May 1 (Tuesday) Batman Day


May 4 (Friday) No Pants Day, Space Day, Star Wars Day


May 5 (Saturday) Free Comic Book Day


May 9 (Wednesday) Lost Sock Memorial Day


May 10 (Thursday) Clean Up Your Room Day


May 11 (Friday) Eat What You Want Day


May 13 (Sunday) Frog Jumping Day


May 14 (Monday) Dance Like a Chicken Day


May 15 (Tuesday) Chocolate Chip Day


May 18 (Friday) Pizza Party Day, No Dirty Dishes Day


May 20 (Sunday) Be a Millionaire Day


May 21 (Monday) Talk Like Yoda Day


May 24 (Thursday) Scavenger Hunt Day


May 25 (Friday) Sing Out Day, Towel Day


May 27 (Sunday) Sun Screen Day


May 28 (Monday) Hamburger Day


May 29 (Tuesday) Put a Pillow on Your Fridge Day


May 31 (Thursday) Macaroon Day

RELATED ARTICLE

FYI

Is premature electioneering illegal?

(Inside Manila) Proliferation of premature campaign materials extolled with the face of Special Assistant to the President Christopher “Bong” Go has triggered rage among concerned netizens that resulted in #TanggalBongGoPosters movement on social media.