Weird, fun holidays celebrated in April

Jace Amodo
PUBLISHED April 2, 2018 02:55 pm
420 Day, Lover’s Day, World Graphics Day, and much more observances this month!

(Inside Manila) It’s amazing how fast March can become a stranger as the month of April now comes in, with holidays and observances such as the Day of Valor, a.k.a. Araw ng Kagitingan, on the 9th. 


According to the Official Gazette of the Republic of the Philippines, the country will observe April as a Vacation Hazards Prevention Month, Broadcasters’ Month, National Hemophilia Awareness Month, Month of Planet Earth, and National Literature Month.


During the Holy Week, Filipinos will celebrate the Moriones Festival in Marinduque, Centurion Festival in Quezon, and Turumba in Laguna. There are also the Lami-Lamihan Festival in Basilan that showcases the rich Yakan Traditions, and the Kadaugan sa Mactan that re-enacts the Battle of Mactan along the islands’ beach.


The world, on the other hand, will celebrate Earth Day on the 22nd, and have these unusual yet fun holidays all throughout the month:


April 01 (Sunday) Fun at Work Day


April 03 (Tuesday) Find a Rainbow Day, World Party Day


April 04 (Wednesday) Hug a Newsman Day, Tell a Lie Day, Walk Around Things Day


April 05 (Thursday) Caramel Day


April 06 (Friday) Tartan Day, Walk to Work Day


April 07 (Saturday) Caramel Popcorn Day, No Housework Day,


April 08 (Sunday) All is Ours Day, Draw a Bird Day, International Romani Day, Name Yourself Day


April 10 (Tuesday) Golfer’s Day, Be Kind to Lawyer’s Day, Siblings Day


April 11 (Wednesday) International Day of Pink


April 12 (Thursday) Grilled Cheese Day


April 13 (Friday) Scrabble Day


April 14 (Saturday) Ex-Spouse Day, International Moment of Laughter Day, Look up the Sky Day, Reach as High as You Can Day


April 15 (Sunday) Rubber Eraser Day


April 17 (Tuesday) Blah, Blah, Blah Day, Haiku Poetry Day


April 18 (Wednesday) International Juggler’s Day, Pet Owners Independence Day, Columnist Day


April 20 (Friday) 420 (Weed Day), Look Alike Day, Volunteer Recognition Day


April 21 (Saturday) Kindergarten Day, Astronomy Day


April 23 (Monday) Lover’s Day, World Laboratory Day, Take a Chance Day


April 24 (Tuesday) Pig in a Blanket Day


April 25 (Wednesday) DNA Day


April 26 (Thursday) Hug an Australian Day


April 27 (Friday) World Graphics Day


April 28 (Saturday) Great Poetry Reading Day, Kiss Your Mate Day


April 30 (Monday) Hairstyle Appreciation Day, Honesty Day

RELATED ARTICLE

FYI

'SKL': A Tito and Tita's guide to millennials’ online slang

Along with the innovation of technology, every generation also gets creative when it comes to their conversations.